Fastaperture

By Fastaperture

Lancaster Castle

I was in Lancaster today for a lecture which was very interesting. I went past the castle on my way from the station.

I'd like to go back and visit it properly when I have more time.

This is taken from the Castle's website:

"Owned by The Duchy of Lancaster (Her Majesty the Queen is the Duke of Lancaster), the castle has witnessed scenes of significant historical, cultural and political impact throughout the centuries. These include incidents of religious persecution, the trials of the 'Lancashire Witches' and 200 executions for everything from murder to stealing cattle.

Until 2011 it was a fully functioning HM Prison and today it is a magnificent 'living' monument, offering a glimpse into England's often dark past through tours and special events enjoyed by modern day visitors of all ages."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.