Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Christmas Spirit

My brother-in-law sent each family household one of these candles, to burn throughout Christmas Day. Something we could all do together today, to remember our dear Hilary, who passed away in March this year. The candle tin has pictures of their three children around it, and the title Christmas Spirit. I had a tear in my eye as my husband lit it this morning - we miss her so much. I wanted to include a thistle in the flower arrangement - I know she would have really liked that.

The Watchnight service was busy last night. Some of my photographs were projected whilst G.D. sang Winter Snow.

Verse 1
Could've come like a mighty storm
with all the strength of a hurricane
You could've come like a forrest fire
with the power of heaven in your flame

Chorus
But you came like a winter snow
quiet and soft and slow
Falling from the sky in the night
to the earth below

Verse 2
Could've swept in like a tidal wave
or an ocean to ravish our hearts
You could have come through like a roaring flood
to wipe away the things we've scarred

Bridge
No, your voice wasn't in a bush burning
No, your voice wasn't in a rushing wind
It was still, it was small, it was hidden

Words by Audrey Assad

And I have a Christmas present from Blip - my entry from yesterday has appeared in the top row of the Spotlight page today - thanks everyone for your support and comments. Happy Christmas.

S



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.