The Naming of Bands

The calendar clicks onto May and the ante ups on annual creative industries extravaganza, goNORTH Festival, which rolls into Inverness on June 4/5.
I am the media messenger for all things goNORTHIAN and today, I have been mostly looking at the programme and working with designer, Vicki, on the leaflet and brochure.
I'm also wondering how to compress this creative melting pot into one snappy press release.
We announced the music showcase earlier this week and there are are bands from Scotland as well as various airts and pairts of Europe taking part.
I love music as much as the next woman - and this is the place to hear the best new music.
Music industry movers and shakers come to goNORTH year-in-year-out looking for up-and-coming talent, and careers are made here...
But I have to confess I feel a dreadful old fart when I look through the bands' Twitter feeds and try to engage in a bit of banter.
They all have mad names. I feel almost regretful that I have never had the opportunity to name a band...
According to those in the know, names to watch include; Siobhan Wilson, Neon Waltz, Broken Records, Miaoux Miaoux, Eleanor Nicolson (16-year-old Lewis lass), Hector Bizerk, the aforementioned F**k Art, Let's Dance, Baby Strange, Atom Tree and Model Aeroplanes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.