But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Chewing Gum.

I needed to run messages in Mbra this morning so suffered a head-ache on the bus journey. The Lothians Muck Truck Co. don’t seem to think much of the residents from our end of the counties and are using a system of aversion therapy to reduce the need for dealings with our sort of public. The buses rattle and smell while their suspension doesn’t appear to comply with the latest standards; I believe they have an agreement with the road maintenance department to add to our discomfort.

That apart, it was an interesting visit; not only was I able to watch this workman with his hot scrubber removing several years worth of chewing gum from the pavement, but I found that there is a small exhibition of paintings in The National Gallery by Edward Lear - he of “The Owl and the Pussycat” fame. I already knew that he was a first class landscape artist as well as an illustrator of natural history books of his time so I went to have a look. The man on the door told me it was easy to find, his actual words were “You can’t miss it.” That seemed like a challenge; I eventually found it in a screened off area in the basement, they only needed to put it in a locked filing cabinet with a poster saying “Beware of the Tiger” to complete the reference to “The Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy.”
I think I’m turning into a grumpy old man.

The paintings are very understated water colours, a couple of them really appealed to me.

I’ve just posted yesterday’s, “The Kelpy.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.