Wood Pigeon Pair--Paris

These two wood pigeons were around the roofs opposite our apartment in Paris 13e late this afternoon, and spent just over five minutes on this dual perch, moving only minimally. I took some 34 shots, hoping to get them perfectly in phase. I never quite did, but two consecutive shots were extremely close (serial # 9745 and 9746). I took just the head from the left-hand bird on #9745 and dumped it into # 9746--voilà!

On most of our Paris sojourns we've had good luck with wood pigeons--here's my favorite (closer, with a longer lens), but they've always been by themselves. We're staying later this year, and Marylee theorizes that they are in mating mode (thought we've seen nothing specific). I hasten to add that I agree with her theory :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.