Glorious Notre Dame

With a new support for my bum knee I took advantage of a brilliant day (though chilly and windy) to head to the Seine for a point-blank shot of the Cathedral of Notre Dame in its spring splendor. View it large. It has been cleaned in recent years, and it is a truly marvelous sight. I don't know of another major European church that is so advantageously exposed.

I took this from the walkway below the level of the Quai de Montebello, with its vehicle traffic. Over a dozen boats passed by during my blip stroll--nearly all of them larger than this one. One Bateau Mouche seemed almost as long as the cathedral :)

It's just before 9 pm in Paris, and I paused briefly to see the start of the final of the French Cup between two teams from Britanny (Rennes and Guingamp)--two anthems were sung, the first in Breton and the second in French (the Marsaillaise, of course)>

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.