Salisbury Cathedral at Dusk

I thought it high time that I treated you all to a night-time, as I have not Blipped one for a WHOLE TEN days!! New subscribers will feel very short-changed...

With a dull, cloudy and dull day all day, the forecast was for clearing skies and a sharp frost. It then transpired that that might not occur til after midnight. And I have another event to photograph tomorrow, The Annual Cuckoo Fair at Downton - I haven't been to this since my digital days, so at least six years!

With dull cloudy skies and night-time, you really have to get the 'blue hour', to give both colour and detail. After that, it just goes a uniform black and buildings just look like cardboard cut-outs. So, at 8.45 pm, I grabbed the tripod and legged it the near mile down to the Cathedral Close.

When JinglyJan visited Salisbury and we had a Blipmeet on Good Friday, I took her to the far end of the Close and from there, you stand much further back and so there is not the usual falling over backwards distortion you usually get. I then, typically, felt the need to frame the floodlit cathedral with foliage. I wanted space around the Spire, but not just empty, boring space. I used the longest reasonable exposure I could, to generate some movement and interest in that grey sky.

Lens is Tamron SP 17-50mm f2.8

Prince Edward, yesterday:

Some of you were surprised how close I got to the Royal Couple. Indeed, I was within a couple of feet of his HRH, once. It probably won't surprise you though that I was, or perhaps should I say, made myself part of the Press team! With my big old full frame D700 and fast, big and heavy 24-70mm f2.8 hanging on one shoulder and the DX D7000 and long Tamron 70-300mm zoom on the other, I DID look like a full fledged 'Pap'. A point-and-shoot just doesn't cut the mustard, unfortunately - size does seem to be everything with the media! All this trouble and usage of contacts - just to get you lot a decent Blip! I hope you appreciate it! (I'm sure that you do...)

Last evening and this morning I was shattered - always on guard, ready for action, talking to the public, when you probably don't want to - they ask you, not the police of loitering bodyguards, who it is you're after! The waiting and standing around too...

For those that like to follow the Royals, here is Prince Edward waving goodbye to Sophie, as they were travelling in separate Range Rovers...

Thanks also to those who have asked after my father. I haven't responded individually I'm afraid, Blip to me is more about the photos and I really want to retain his dignity. It is also difficult to talk about. He is sort of OK, but is finding it difficult to adapt to his new disabilities. I think I will leave it there, if I may - but I do appreciate the concern.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.