Under the Stars at Mt John

One Word: Amazing.

Yes, the night sky at Mount John Observatory is certainly amazing. Set in the heart of the Mackenzie Basin International Dark Sky Reserve, it's a special place.

I'm here on a trip with University of Canterbury Alumni Association, in my capacity as 'official photographer'. I'm shooting some stock shots for the association's marketing and fundraising collateral, but in between I've been sneaking a few shots of my own.

This shot is at the top of Mount John, with me and Mrs Horomaka (in a rare self portrait) taking in the splendour of the Milky Way as it arcs across the dark southern skies.

I'm uploading back at the hotel, shortly before heading back out into the night. Here's hoping it stays clear...

A nature walk is on the cards for the morning, before heading off back to Christchurch. What a great place to spend a weekend in....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.