Nettle weevil

I'm getting quite fed up with sciatica - especially in the morning when I can't even put my sock on. Or sit on the loo comfortably. But I'm trying to focus on all the things I can do, rather than the many that are difficult at the moment.

So when I saw this nettle leaf-weevil Phyllobius pomaceus walking across the kitchen table this morning, I decided that would make an easy blip, which didn't require any bending! Phyllobius pomaceus is an abundant species throughout Cambridgeshire, appearing in April and remaining common through the Summer. It is found mainly on nettles and in a wide range of habitats where nettles occur. This species, shows a certain amount of variation in colouration, with some specimens showing a distinct coppery/purple tinge.

Weevils have always been my favourite type of beetle and I've now told Pete to bring me back as many weevils as he can, so that I can try and build up a collection of local species.

Despite being in even more pain, Pete and I managed to initiate replacement of our decrepit bathroom, and do a food shop - not too large now that there are only three of us! I'm sorry I've not been very active on Blip, but sitting at the computer is particularly painful, so I'm having to spend time away from the screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.