Female orange-tip

I needed to do some fieldwork at Gamlingay Wood, and although my leg still hurt a lot, I decided that I would not be defeated. Pete very kindly agreed to come with me and help, which meant a lot less walking over rough ground , setting out canes to mark sample plots.

Somehow I coped, despite having to pick my way through lots of fallen logs and branches, and we managed to get all the work done in a reasonable length of time, possibly aided by the very chilly conditions which did not encourage lingering. I felt fairly shattered when I got home, and treated myself to an hour or so lying on a lounger on our south-facing patio, which is completely sheltered from the wind. The warmth was remarkably relaxing and I'm afraid I drifted off for a while!

This beautiful female orange-tip butterfly was also taking advantage of the sheltered conditions, and spent some time sitting on this garlic-mustard flower head. This is one of the butterfly's food plants, so we're hoping that eggs might be laid, so that I can photograph the whole life cycle.

Day off tomorrow, and no fieldwork planned for another six days - by which time I hope my leg might be showing some signs of improvement!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.