bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

Formby sand dunes.

Stayed at my good friends in Formby last night and we had great evening.
This morning rather than drive straight back to Lancashire I drove though Formby woods and onto the sand dunes. I think it must be going on 40 years since I played in these dunes with my sister and school friends . We used to get the train over to Freshfields from Liverpool during the summer holidays and spend all day messing about in the dunes, by the water and then looking for the red squirrels on the paths back up to the station. It seemed more exhausting walking up and down dunes now than it did then ! I treated myself to a well earned 99 ice cream when I got back to the car park. Now I am cooking lamb shank in red wine and a full roast dinner for one...which I very seldom do but just felt like a treat. And rich fruit cake and crumbly Lancashire cheese for afters with the rest of the red wine. This is my favourite sort of Sunday...no work on the Monday !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.