Lunch at The Ness

Today we met up with Phoebe and the grands at The Ness for lunch. It's a nice place to go, overlooking the entrance to Teignmouth harbour and it has a garden so the kids can run around a bit instead of sitting at the table getting bored between courses. Her's Oscar studiously drawing his Minion (from Despicable Me) and a very good job he did too.

I've just heard from my cousin that my aunt has received the Bomber Command Clasp awarded to my Uncle Eric, who died when his plane was shot down over Germany during WW2. It's hard to know what to feel about an award so many years after the event. The knowledge of him was always there as I grew up although not marked in any particular way except for a picture of him in uniform on my mother's dressing table. When the availability of the award was announced, we knew that we must apply for it in respect of his contribution. My cousin did the application with my Aunt Joyce, his only surviving sibling, so my thanks to him. It's good to know that his service has been acknowledged.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.