Who Remembers Storybook Dolls?

A friend keeps part of her girlhood collection behind glass in a beautiful old bookcase. I had quite a few of these dolls when I was a little girl. They were all arranged on their shelves in my blue-walled bedroom. There were fairytale themes, and seasons, days of the week, and months of the year. February, for instance, would have had some red and hearts incorporated into her outfit for Valentine's day, and Winter would have had a velvet jacket and a muff. I don't think they were meant to play with--at least I didn't play with them--they were for show, lined up in all their eerie perfection. I had an odd mix of feelings when I saw this creature with the red cape--I find her rather sinister now and can't imagine the appeal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.