MonoMonday:Selfie

Well. That's the most entertaining photo shoot I've been to lately.

Obviously I was going to duck and weave and maybe take advantage of the Photo Booth on the iPad (it does nice X-ray effects). However the lovely picture Miffy posted this morning shamed me into at least having a go. And I must admit I didn't have any trouble laughing as I saw my attempts.

Then onto Photoshop and Nik Efex. Some tips:
1. Don't sharpen. It has an adverse effect on those character lines (on other people, wrinkles on me).
2. Nik's High Key and Full Spectrum Inverse are the most flattering as well as possibly some of the Sepia tones.
3. Steer well clear of filters such as Wet Rocks and Film Noir 3 unless you want to look about 100.
4. I liked Hobbs's suggestion to use the bookcase as a background; but all I could get in focus was the books, which maybe isn't a bad idea.

Anyway, after all that I was about to post a reasonably not too unflattering, rather boring image when I hit Film Noir 2 (NOT 3) and decided this arty version of me is much more interesting, even if it is cheating a bit.

Not sure whether to thank Paladian for hosting this MonoMonday challenge or not.

PS. The Queen of portraiture, Trisharooni, recently told me I don't photograph well and actually look better in real life. That is the nicest thing anyone has said to me in a long time, and a great relief.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.