middaypyjamas

By middaypyjamas

Rust and Gold

As Melbourne starts to get decked out in the warmer side of the colour spectrum the actual temperature is dropping. Reds, yellows and oranges are starting to abound in our local flora declaring quite assuredly that Autumn is here. This shot was taken while riding home through this brisk Autumn weather.

To start my day however I ran through the brisk Autumn weather. After forcing myself out of bed and into some running gear, I stiff leggedly exited my house and went for a 10k run. I quickly warmed up during this run, as did my muscles, eventually gaining a bit more fluidity. It was an okay run, not as good as my last one by about three and a half minutes, but all around not to bad, and, is almost always the way with exercise, I felt better for having done it.

I then rode into work. This means I ran 10k, rode 10k and all before 10am. Amazing what you can do with a bit of determination and persistence. Persistence was my word for the day. It was the word I had in my head that got me through my run and it was also in my thoughts throughout my work day, forcing me on whenever I came across a problem that wasn’t immediately answerable. Persistence is possibly one of the best traits you can have. Those who have it, or force it out of themselves will always succeed. They’re the ones who keep going even when it seems they’ve failed. They know they haven’t really failed, they’ve tried some things that haven’t worked or come across a few walls but those faux failures were really just checkpoints along the path to success and with a bit of persistence they’ll always make it to the finish line.

Well that’s my thought for the day in any case.

- Damian

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.