Liberation Day

"This is London... At this moment, it is announced that Montgomery has stated that the German troops in Holland, Northwest Germany and Denmark have surrendered."

Those were the words of BBC's Danish broadcast on 4 May 1945 at half past eight. They meant the end of Germany's five-year occupation of Denmark, and the radio broadcast has since become one of the most important symbols of one of the happiest days in recent Danish history.

We celebrate Liberation Day on 5th of May and today - in 2014 - it is not so much about the German troops during World War II. We do now consider Germany one of our strong allied in the European Union. Today Liberation Day is a celebration of democracy and our freedom of speech, religion and political conviction.


Work is still mad. I wanted to leave at 2 pm today - I left at 4 pm! Which is early considering how it has been the last couple of weeks.

I took the boys for a walk in the woods and did some shopping on the way home. I have packed most of my stuff for when I go to France on Wednesday. Now I am ready for an early night.

I have a bad headache, so I don't think I will spend much time on Blip tonight.

See you tomorrow.
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.