BoHingles Blips

By BoHingles

Retro Station

As it was a bank holiday Monday I decided to go on public transport for the second day in a row. Yesterday we went on the train from Stourbridge to Worcester and today it was Stourbridge to Birmingham. I rarely go on public transport especially trains so it's quite a novelty for me.

We did a little bit of shopping then headed to the Mailbox to eat at Côte Brasserie which does the most amazing Tuna steak, flame grilled and raw in the middle just how I like it.

Took a few shots around the town hall and some of the street buskers but I really like the retro design of Stourbridge Junction Station so that is todays blip. I was tempted to go Mono but couldn't bring myself to loose the colours.

The station was opened in 1852 on the Oxford, Worcester and Wolverhampton railway line, at a slightly different location to the present station, under the name of Stourbridge. The junction came about when the Stourbridge Railway built their line to Lye and beyond.

The image shows the internal redesign which was done sometime in the early 80's, its worn and needs attention but has lots of character and design from that era when we were all wearing shell suits and day glow, luminous clothing when also perms were the in thing haha.

Thanks for looking

Mr Bo Hingles


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.