A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Chuffed

I saw a steam train by accident today. I very nearly didn't see it.

I was on my way to Hopetoun House to do an RSPB thing ahead of the Birdfair on the 10th and 11th of May and was standing on the bridge at Dalmeny station taking photograph of the Forth Bridge which looked cool in the mist. There were a few other people up there with cameras, apparently also enjoying the atmosphere. I then heard a few people shouting "it's coming, it's coming!" and I felt a bit bemused as to why the arrival of a train at a train station should be so exciting. Then I glanced down at the platform below. There were more people with cameras. A LOT of people with cameras. Hmm. Maybe I should turn round, just to see what the fuss is about?

This, from all the other photos I have seen on Blip and from posts on my cycling forum is the Union of South Africa and was designed by Sir Nigel Gresley.

Neat.

View in large for extra shinyness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.