Tutto bene

By Blackdrake

Maya

So after spending quite a while wondering how on earth I was to blip the Mayan culture/people/temples....I discovered, by looking at other blips, that maya has another meaning. Did this help? Not at first I admit!

It seems one of those complex yet meant to be simple concepts. In Hinduism it means (nabbed from a web page)
"Maya means "that which is not" (i.e. illusion).
It refers to accepting the temporary as having lasting value, and looking for enduring happiness in this world.
Through cultivating the quality of goodness the soul may rise to transcendence and escape the clutches of maya."

So to my photo above..in 1843, Hans Christian Andersen published the fairy tale "An Ugly Duckling". This swan is reflected in the puddle it is drinking from. I thought of the tale of the cygnet being under the delusion that he was an ugly duckling and subsequently discovering he was in fact a beautiful swan - once he sees his reflection. I suppose though that he then was in another illusion - that of being a swan and how it affected his behaviour and thoughts about himself. Hmmm I think I'd enjoy learning more about this subject.

Today was mostly a getting house tidied/cleaned up a bit. the we went for n evening stroll around Kilmardinny Loch. We popped into the Burnbrae for a wee cheeky drink and ended up staying for dinner - so a nice easy Monday night for me. Here's to a short week.
Ciao

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.