Scribbler

By scribbler

Bhagavad Gita

Edwin Bryant, Rutgers professor of Hindu religion and philosophy, with Julie of the Julie Lawrence Yoga Center in Portland where Edwin is teaching a 10-hour workshop on the Bhagavad Gita over three days.

"The Bhagavad Gita is perhaps the most representative and certainly the most influential and popular text from the numerous and varied spiritual traditions of Hindu India. Spoken by Lord Krishna to Arjuna who is undergoing a moment of crisis, the text deals with the nature of the self, the world, ultimate reality, the purpose of human existence, and the spiritual paths that can be undertaken to accomplish this purpose. There are primarily four such paths, or yoga systems, featured in the text through which one can unite with the Divine: the path of self-knowledge, jnana yoga; the path of action in the world, karma yoga; the path of meditation, raja yoga; and the path of theistic devotion, bhakti yoga. This workshop undertakes a detailed discussion of these four yoga systems, with contextual references to the background of the text and to some of the major streams of Hindu thought in general. No prior knowledge of Hinduism is necessary; the only requirement is to bring an open mind and sincere heart. " — Edwin Bryant website

Edwin wrote a book on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, with translations of the text from Sanskrit plus various ancient commentators. He gave a workshop on Patanjali in Portland in 2012. It was fabulous, and I've been waiting for him to come back ever since. Two years ago I asked Edwin to sign my copy of his book, and this is what he wrote:

"Please consider that the God of Jesus and the Isvara of Patanjali and of the Bhagavad Gita are the same supreme loving being!"

I have quoted this to many people. It deeply touches my heart, and I believe it to be true. When I asked Edwin if it was okay to take photographs ("Of course!") and post them on my blog, I said I was going to quote him. He said, "Don't quote me, quote the Great Masters."

I will do that also. But I believe it's important to share what has been valuable to me.

It would be impossible to summarize this fast-moving and intellectually demanding teaching in a blip, so I'll just say that if you have a chance to hear Edwin Bryant in person, seize the opportunity.

Here are some words from the Bhagavad Gita (II.47-48) that I find enlightening, from the translation by Eknath Easwaran.

"You have the right to work, but never to the fruit of work.
You should never engage in action for the sake of reward,
nor should you long for inaction.
Perform work in this world, Arjuna, as a man established within himself —
without selfish attachments, and alike in success and defeat.
For yoga is perfect evenness of mind."


--------------------
CHALLENGES

Anniemay-Mollymay
The Bhagavad Gita is set on a battlefield, on the eve of a great battle. Though he is a warrior, Arjuna doesn't want to fight because he would be committing mayhem against his own relations. The 18 chapters of the Gita are the advice Krishna gives to Arjuna about this.

DDW: Where I Live
I live in the world of yoga.

--------------------
ABOUT THE PHOTOGRAPHS

The light in the yoga studio was not bright, and Edwin was backlit, seated with the windows behind him. The iPhone 4S is notorious for its poor flash, so there was no way out. In addition, he's a dynamic person continually in motion.

I took these pictures in order to have a record of a teacher who has influenced me and given me spiritual gifts. I also took some cityscapes from the yoga studio windows that, though wonderful bright images, wouldn't bring the experience back in the same way.

Edit: There was nothing at all interesting about the color in these photos, so I redid them in b&w.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.