Scribbler

By scribbler

Bhagavad Gita too

Edwin Bryant writes an inscription in Bill from Ashland's copy of the Bhagavad Gita.

When I arrived at the Bhagavad Gita workshop on the first evening, Bill from Ashland greeted me, saying he remembered a question about bhakti devotion to Jesus that I'd asked at Edwin's 2012 Patanjali workshop and he had some suggestions for me. I was amazed that he recognized me, remembered what I'd asked, and had brought information without knowing I'd even be there. We had several conversations over the three days of the workshop about things as varied as Eknath Easwaran's three-volume series, "The Bhagavad Gita for Daily Living," the Roman Catholic monk Bede Griffiths who lived in an ashram in India, and the Camaldolese monastery in Big Sur, California, where we had both made retreats. Bill brought spiritual gifts for me, but it turned out I had a few for him as well.

I also received a spiritual gift from Edwin. A few times he gave us choices about what aspects of his teachings we wanted to pursue. I kept saying, "Bhakti!" Bhakti yoga is the yoga of devotion, and it's the primary reason I had come to the workshop. On Sunday morning, Edwin and I arrived at the same time, and after greeting one another he told me he had a gift for me. It turned out to be a copy of his book translating a portion of the Bhagavata Purana filled with charming stories about Krishna. The closest I could think of in the New Testament was the story of Jesus, risen after the Crucifixion, sitting on the beach cooking fish for breakfast (John 21).

Two years ago when the subject of bhakti yoga came up in the Patanjali workshop, Edwin told me, "I don't like to push my own book, but if you want to understand bhakti you should read this." I was embarrassed to admit I never had. Now he had gone to Powell's and purchased a copy for me! Of course I asked him to write something in it. This is what he wrote:

"May the beautiful lotus-eyed Lord* capture your heart and reside there with the wonderful Lord Jesus."
* I.e., Lord Krishna.

Maybe!

I have some hard theological thinking to do about this. But what I'm certain of is that it was offered with the utmost kindness and respect, because I know Edwin feels about Krishna the way I feel about Jesus. And when he prayed in Sanskrit at the beginning of the workshop, I didn't understand what he was saying but tears were rolling down my cheeks.

I'm coming away from this workshop with lots of homework! Books to read, ways to practice, scripture to memorize, writing to keep track of what I discover as I explore these paths. I'm also coming away with a better understanding of bhakti yoga.

Here are some words from the Bhagavad Gita (IX.26-27) that I find enlightening, from the translation by Winthrop Sergeant. Lord Krishna speaks.

"He who offers to Me with devotion and a pure heart
A leaf, a flower, a fruit, or water,
That offering of devotion I accept from him.

Whatever you do, what ever you eat
Whatever you offer, whatever you give,
Whatever austerities you perform, Arjuna,
Do that as an offering to Me."


And from BG XVIII.65-66.

"Fix your mind on Me, worshiping Me,
Sacrificing to Me, bowing down to Me;
In this way you shall come truly to Me,
I promise, for you are dear to Me.

Abandoning all duties,
Take refuge in Me alone.
I shall liberate you from all evils; do not grieve."


I don't find anything here that Christians can't apply to the God of their understanding.

-----------------------

CHALLENGE
Anniemay+Mollymay
Maybe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.