Sheppitsgal

By Sheppitsgal

Book of the Day

Back to work today, nothing different on the way there, or the way back, and no sign of the neighbours cats. So, you get books.

I read the first book, The Dark Winter, originally pictured here, in only a couple of days. I enjoyed it enough that I decided to read the second book in the series.

These books are set in my home town of Hull, which was what originally made me want to read them. Basically a police procedural, the main protagonist is a Detective Sergeant in the CID. The story was good, and kept me interested, but I'm not sure whether I would have enjoyed it as much if it wasn't for the local scenery. For example, the first murder takes place in the Holy Trinity Church in Hull, which we drive past every week when we go to take Alan's timesheet in. Also, coincidentally, that is where the beer festival was held, which my Dad and Brother went to.

All in all, I can say I enjoyed the book, and am quite enjoying the second one too. You might enjoy it, dear reader.

I did not, however, like it as much as I liked Mr Penumbra. Have you read that yet?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.