Sheppitsgal

By Sheppitsgal

Funny Money

A client came in to pay his bill today, and I needed £2 in change from him.

He rummaged around for a bit, and then said "I've got these", holding out two Scottish pound notes rather gingerly. I think he was quite shocked when I almost snapped his hand off!* Being a Scottish chap transplanted to Yorkshire, I think he was used to people refusing to accept Scottish money. IT IS STERLING YOU KNOW!! for now ;)

Alan is an avid collector of EVERYTHING nope, I do mean EVERYTHING!. I haven't seen a Scottish pound note before, so not sure if he's got one, but anyway, this one is quite crisp and newish, so will probably be better than any he already has.

When we went to the Isle of Man last year, our change had to be searched every time we spent anything, so that he could get as many different Isle of Man notes and coins as he could. It was even worse when we went to Italy the year before, as he examined every euro coin to see if he had one minted in each particular country.

I have just realised that Alan's collections could be some great Blip fodder - he has vinyl records, badges, coins, stamps, railway stuff, maps, and on and on and on. I call all of this by the collective term of crap faff. As in, Alan is upstairs, faffing about!

*I paid £1 from my money, my boss - who is also a sad loser, it seems - paid £1 from his pocket and kept the other note!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.