Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Orange...without apology!

That's right - another oriole. And I am without remorse. There are 8 orioles outside in my backyard right now - and each one takes my breath away. I sat out on the patio, very still, until they got close enough for me to get some good shots, and this was my favorite of the day. I have a small serviceberry bush about 10 feet from the patio and it is in full flower at the moment - making for a lovely perch for the birds. When this gorgeous boy landed there, I quickly fired off a burst of 10 shots, right before he took off. Blip in the bag.

I've been sorting through my kitchen cupboards most of the day. Not as bad as I had feared, although I've got many things set aside now to get rid of. Most will be sold or donated, so at least they won't go to waste. Hubs is painting the living room walls now; he finished the ceiling this morning. It looks really great!

While I was out on the patio stalking orioles, P-Hummie did his courtship dive display multiple times for various females who happened to stumble into his lair. In between his dances of love, he chased several other males all over the yard and off into the woods. It's not easy being P-Hummie! Three inches of attitude...Hopefully a suitable number of ladies will be impressed .. which will result in lots of young hummers by early July.

I posted six other shots on Flickr, starting HERE and I guarantee that the first one will make you laugh out loud. If I wasn't fixated on orange, she would have been my blip.

Thank you so very much for sending my Yellow Warbler to the spotlight page ... and keeping him there all day! You are a wonderful bunch of people and I am so glad you don't tire of my endless birds...

Happy Tuesday, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.