Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mono Wednesday!

Okay, that is a stretch... This is a hungry Black and White Warbler, tossing back a tasty moth that he'd just managed to snatch from under a bit of tree bark.

What a day I had today! I met up with my walking/birding group, led by Tom, who is is someone I've learned so much from in the last few years. We saw wonderful warblers today, as well as vireos, veeries, waterthrush, towhees, a pair of scarlet tanagers, butterflies, kinglets, and my first flycatcher of the season. A wonderful outing with a great bunch of people.

Back home where I've whipped up the Thai shrimp salad that I posted here recently - it's chilling in the fridge, ready for dinner. My backyard is still a symphony of song and color. The orioles and grosbeaks are still here, much to my total delight. The concensus among the bird experts is that they are hanging around because there aren't a lot of insects out yet, which would be their preferred diet. In a pinch, a nice Backyard Bistro does the trick. So, I stopped at the store and bought another bag of oranges and more grape jelly ... after all, who am I to disappoint the orioles...

I posted some other pics from the walk today on Flickr - eight starting here.

Hubs is taking the next two days off (burning through accrued vacation) so we are hoping to finish the deck and the indoor painting during this long weekend. Wish us luck!

Cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.