Long walk

The weather today was more than OK - it was lovely. Wonderful blue skies and quite warm at times.

Had a long phone call with my daughter - she phoned whilst having her lunchtime walk. Weather down in London sounded even better than it was here.

I had to go to the post office to post a parcel so I walked down to the village this afternoon. I also popped into Tesco while I was there. Instead of coming straight home I decided to go home the long way round.

I passed by this lane on my route and even though it looks lovely it brought back memories of a tragedy. Many years ago the father of a schoolfriend of mine was killed in this lane. He lived in one of the cottages at the far end of the lane and one day a friend came to visit in a car. When his visitor was ready to leave my friend's Dad decided to walk in front of the car and guide it down the narrow lane. For some reason he ended up at the side of the car and was squashed against the wall on the right. Can't imagine how the chap in the car felt knowing he had killed his friend in a terrible accident.

This blip also fits the bill for The Forum Challenge - Where I live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.