Once Upon a Time

Yesterday, fellow Blipper, Aynil, said she was going to publish her wedding picture and I commented that I thought everybody should. So today, Aynil, I give you OilMan and me on our wedding day almost 51years ago.

We were so young...I was 19 and he was 22...yet we were very certain. We were naive, but we had a vision. Not a complicated one, or a fairytale one but certainly a practical one. I had just finished my first year at university, and OilMan had just gotten his Master's degree and had a job as an engineer at Chevron. I graduated three years later and he is still working at Chevron.

A lot has happened since then, but we have kept the spark that was ignited when he first asked me to dance at a CalTech party alight all these years and turned it into a flame. It has flickered from time to time, but over the years we have kept the home fires burning. We have raised a wonderful family and said good bye to our parents and Oil Man's sister. We still have each other and no regrets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.