Third Year Abroad

By LittleLots

After some last minute revision with breakfast, I headed to my first exam in Milan not really knowing what to expect. My first impressions were that it was far more formal than I had thought, there were a couple of invigilators hanging around they were careful not to let anyone into the room before they'd finished setting out the desks and exams papers. Once the exam started however, I realised I couldn't have been more wrong. After some kind advice from the lecturer about cheating and to make sure that you did it well, the exam started and a sort of silence extended over the lecture theatre. I say sort of as I'm pretty sure most of the back of the room was doing the exam as a group effort. Things quietened down after a while though, the silence only broken by the sound of a camera. I looked up to find our lecturer taking a photo of the exam room... This was quickly followed by the professor asking for 20 seconds of our time as one of the other students ran up to take a selfie with him. Possibly one of the funniest and most surreal moments of my university career. The rest of the time passed uneventfully, until with 20 minutes to go the professor thought he'd come and have a chat with me about Edinburgh. As you do. Not sure how the exam itself went but I do now know that his niece also goes to Edinburgh and he knows my personal tutor.

Went out for celebratory, after exam sushi in the evening. Paid 15 euros and essentially you can have anything from the menu. Never seen so much sushi in my entire life. Finished the evening with a gelato from cioccolati italiani sitting at colonne, where some drunk Italian guy decided he'd come over and have a chat with us. I think all our eyebrows raised when he lead with 'I have nice room for you.' Took a while to realise he meant rum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.