Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Sit!

Archie is a wee star - no accidents yet. Last night I left his crate door open, inside his ‘pen’ (a couple of bits of fencing from B&Q) and put a puppy pad down - the breeder gave us a packet.

Lo and behold - not a peep all night, and he’d used the puppy pad and gone back to bed. I had to waken him up at 6am. Certainly beats getting up and going out!

I’m getting wise to him now, and have my laces tucked in, and my trouser legs tucked into my socks. Though he’s pretty good at responding to ‘No!’ He’ll charge around for a while, chasing Monkey or Duck, sliding around on the kitchen floor - stopping to stare at his reflection in the oven door - then will come and flop down on my feet when he’s tired.

He can ‘Come’ when called. Usually. And ‘Sit’. So far so good.

When he’s asleep in his crate, I often find I waken from a lovely snooze with my head on the kitchen table.

The play pen and other assorted goodies ordered ages ago, but ‘got lost’ has been found and will arrive tomorrow. A rather long time to come from their base in West Lothian!!

People have been asking why I don’t want him using the grass willy nilly as a toilet. It’s a shared green, and I don’t want brown circles all over it, which dog piddle does to grass. ‘Dog Rocks’ can be bought put in their water, and by some magic stops this… But the bit right outside our back door is paved, and it’s technically ‘ours’, so I want him contained in there when he goes out - then I won’t worry about him eating the flowers, hanging off the washing, or pooing in the wrong place. Or chasing Tinkerbelle, who was sitting watching him this evening, but he didn’t notice her.

Just been to the vet’s for his first inoculation. Wish I’d brought my camera - what a wee pathetic look he put on (Archie - not the vet).

He’s booked in for his first ‘Puppy Party’!

I think we’re invited too. Can’t wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.