Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

An early Memorial Day.

Dear Diary,

I have been planting my Grandmother's grave every year since 1988. Although I will be in Ireland this Memorial Day, I couldn't let that stop me...I just planted a few weeks early. Her favorite flower, the pansy, is perfect since it is still chilly at night and they don't mind a chill. I'll put the summer flowers in when I get back.

My parents are buried on the other side of the stone. When it's my turn, I will join my Grandmother. This is a ritual I feel honored to do each year. They gave so much to me, especially my Grandmother. I asked for her blessing on my up-coming trip. She is smiling I'm sure and wishing me well.

"Don't forget to remember me."

Remembering all those who have gone on before...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.