Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Spey Casting

I stopped off at the river again this afternoon and met a group of gentlemen practicing their fly casting. Spey casting, I was told. This double-handed approach to casting was initially developed along the River Spey in Scotland, I learned. This group of fly fishers were working toward a special certification so that they could become teachers of the fly fishing art. They all had a wicked sense of humor and were most definitely "into" what they were doing. It was funny that they mistook me for a photojournalist who was supposed to meet them later for a photo-shoot/story.

My father-in-law, Bill is a world class fly fisherman and this blip is especially for him. I admire anyone who is so disciplined and passionate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.