Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

An apology

I must firstly apologise for all this rain we're having today. It's my fault. You see, normally this weekend I'd be in Keswick at the Jazz Festival. It normally rains all weekend and when I get home everyone tells me what nice weather they've had. Well, I'm not in Keswick so the rain has clearly decided to come down everywhere, just to make sure I don't miss it.

When we got married, my Best Man took the cork from the bottle of Champagne we drank, wedged a 50p coin into it, and gave it back to us as a good luck token. Now, that set us thinking; we'd always remember where that came from, but what about other reasons to drink a bottle of Champagne? So, we decided that from then on, every time we drank a bottle of Champagne we would keep the cork and write on it the date and the occasion. We only ever keep Champagne corks; not any other bubbly, and I counted them up today; 79. Most of them were significant events; anniversaries, birthdays, new jobs, a book being published, new house etc. I did notice one though, which said 'No particular reason'. We probably enjoyed that one most!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.