Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Waiting for the postman....

One thing I learned on my course yesterday is that I do not use my 70-200mm lens enough. The photographer leading the course says she uses hers too much, and was recently challenged by a fellow photographer to try different lenses in different circumstances. She also explained that depending on how far you are standing from the subject, the area in focus differs. So using the 70-200mm at f/2.8 will give you a few centimetres of focus if you are close to your subject, but if you are standing much further back, that area of focus increases from about 1 cm of focus to about 10 cm. (I hope I have got that right!) There is a nifty app called f/tools to help calculate this and the depth of field.

Today, therefore, I decided to use my 70-200mm lens no matter what. It was raining and miserable outside so I decided to photograph Murdoch indoors. However, with a long lens he had to be some distance away from me and every time I picked it up he moved in closer to see what I was doing...a frustrating exercise.

We were waiting for the postman...who brought us a letter with some very good news for Thomas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.