Night at the Museum

It's always fun to add an interesting hotel to the more usual business/tourist hotels that are so common around the world.

So, for the next few nights I'm staying in Å above Norway's (and very likely the World's) only museum about stockfish. For those of you joining late, stockfish is the air-dried cod that you see hanging on pretty much every available scrap of flattish land in the Lofoten Islands.

The upper rooms in the building are what in my youth would have been called a Youth Hostel. In deference to my advanced years, these establishments are now just called Hostels, and they even extend to having private rooms.

I'm looking forward to exploring this bit of the Lofoten Islands, after that I have no alternative but to turn round and head back where I came from. The road (in this case the E10) really does end here.

1381/3423

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.