lemonzest

By lemonzest

Mordechai Sherman

used to live here.

I occasionally have a look at this empty plot where he lived before the war. I'm not sure why exactly. The surrounding houses are intact and it faces a small chapel built to celebrate the passing of the Black Death in 17 something. Last time I looked there was a pile of stones, a collapsed well and a plum tree. These have gone now. I bulldozer had at some time taken a scoop out of the garden.

I don't know very much about him, other than I once helped some nice people try to find evidence of members of the family. An old lady who we miraculously found, had worked for Mr Sherman's tailoring business and showed us this plot. It was a very sad day which I'll never forget. She described how the Nazis rounded up the Jews who were still left in the area. Only three of thousands of these people survived.

This unclaimed plot is still empty.

The map function isn't working.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.