Side by side

Like two old friends we,
That's you and me,
Stand.
Look out to sea
Side by side
Just be
Don't need to talk
Or walk
Sand through our toes
Just side by side
Don't touch
Or do too much
We watch as ages pass
As faces pass
As people change
And rearrange
And do thing strange
To me, to you
Us two
A lick of paint
A trinket
Here or there
Something old
Something new
What doesn't change
Is the view
Like two old friends we,
That's you and me,
Stand
Side by side.

~Barking~


Today I am feeling nostalgic. Hubby and I checked out of our accommodation and headed to Sorrento to catch the ferry to Queenscliffe.

I saw two Golden Retrievers and missed JL and Cousteau and the rest of the furkids terribly. JL, I am so grateful for your friendship. I thank you for looking after my Cousteau for me. I hope we'll see each other soon; either here or there ...

These beach huts, side by side, reminded me of our wonderful beach walks and the views we have taken in together. They reminded me of how life changes but what is important really doesn't.

So, here we are in Queenscliffe. Hubby has crashed out for an hour's sleep and I am fiddling with computers and photographs.

We'll find somewhere quiet and tasty for food in a short while and then an early night. Tomorrow we head home and then, quite literally, our honeymoon is over!

The honeymoon might be over, but our lives together have only just begun. :-)

Night all.

~Mr & Mrs Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.