RunAndrewRun

By RunAndrewRun

Time

Swimming today - at my favourite Edinburgh Pool, of course! - but will need to be early evening, given other commitments throughout the day ...

... meantime, here's a Mary Ursula Bethell poem, which is today's entry in the photographed collection:


Time

‘Established’ is a good word, much used in garden books,
‘The plant, when established’ . . .
Oh, become established quickly, quickly, garden
For I am fugitive, I am very fugitive –

Those that come after me will gather these roses,
And watch, as I do now, the white wistaria
Burst, in the sunshine, from its pale green sheath.

Planned. Planted. Established. Then neglected,
Till at last the loiterer by the gate will wonder
At the old, old cottage, the old wooden cottage,
And say ‘One might build here, the view is glorious;
This must have been a pretty garden once.’

---

Mary Ursula Bethell (1874–1945)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.