Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

Charity Barge Pull

A quick walk alone the canal at lunchtime today and I came across this bunch of guys pulling a narrowboat by rope along the canal. Had no idea why but I whipped my camera out of course! I noticed on the boat it had banners for the Roy Castle's Cancer Foundation, so googling it later it appears they were doing a 127 mile pull from Liverpool to Leeds in aid of charity. Boat Pull And it was chucking it down , windy and cold the poor guys, but I image they took heart from the good will and pubs along the way. I believe the 'pullers' were from the Keighley Cougars team?
You can see in this pic also how the canal bends, it was moved in the 80s, from where the road is now. Behind the road and over the fence is the railway line, and before the bypass was built, the canal and railway used to run alongside each other.
Anyway - I wish them well on their journey and fundraising!
An evening meal at a friends house tonight ….. and she's a very good cook!!! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.