Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

By Chance? Or Fate

By chance? Does anything ever really happen just by chance?

Fate? Is our life planned out for us from day one, in all of its entirety?

The most fascinating thing happened to me today. It was a day that produced a story. A strong and amazing story that will be told many times. A story that in my mind, was the result of fate. Something bigger. Something greater. A plan that was already planned out and destined to happen on this very day.

My blip idea for today was to head down to the bridge. My hope was to get several shots from different angles. I went off on my own for about a half an hour to study the angles and explore the underside of this impressive bridge.

This is the first photo that I snapped today. I was attracted to the "cathedral type" illusion that the supporting beams took on from this perspective. It was a misty day and I was constantly having to wipe my lens so that my shots would not appear spotty. I hopped up on logs, walked down to the water front, submerged my shoes into about five inches of soggy wet sand, I got down low, I pointed the camera high.......all of this without a soul in sight and without a care in the world. I had the whole beach to myself and the photo possibilities were endless.

After about forty or so shots, I was confident that I had gotten something special. Something blip worthy. As I was making my way back up the trail, a woman walked out on her deck. The deck was overlooking the vast sandy beach that was supporting the bridge. We made eye contact and I smiled and said hello. One second later......now this is the part about chance? Or fate?.......the next thing I knew, one of my best and closest childhood friends appeared beside her. I almost had to do a double take but I knew at the instant, that I was looking into the eyes of one of my favorites.

The last time I saw her was at her wedding and if I am remembering right, it was about five or six years ago. So today, her family had had their faces pressed against the full pane window watching, "The crazy girl" cruising around all over the beach.

Well, if you haven't already put two and two together, I was the "crazy girl" and had absolutely no idea that I was being watched by anyone, let alone one of my best friends. We laughed so hard as they were playing back their earlier conversations:

"What is that girl doing?"
"Why is she hanging out under the bridge?"
"Is she homeless?"
"Is she kinda crazy?"
"Why does she keep squatting down so close to the water?"

"Oooooh look, she has a camera!"
"She's just a tourist photographing the bridge".

Today was one of those moments that was just meant to be. If you tried to write this in a novel, the readers wouldn't buy the sheer coincidence of this surprise encounter. The funny thing is, when we saw each other, it was as if no time had passed. I was able to visit with her family for a while (with my sopping wet jeans rolled up to my knees) and most importantly, I was able to meet her little baby girl.

I can thank God for this little reunion. There is absolutely no way that I can mark this as just a chance encounter or simple coincidence. This was meant to be and it is one of those stories that will continue to fascinate me as the years go on.

If I had figured out how to do my collage tonight, I would have included a picture of my good girlfriend. I have a great shot of her laughing with the bridge in the background. I would also like to give a very very very special thanks to Beautiful Blue for directing me to Carol (Rosie & Mr. Fun) and several others who have had success with collages. This blip community is full of sincere and thoughtful people and I am just so happy to be a part of it. Thank you to those of you who sent detailed collage instructions to me this evening. I will put some time into it and reread your comments until I am successful!

Good night everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.