Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

A Grey Day...

in the Blue Mountains.

Today winter reared it's head in a big way. The fire is on and it's freezing outside. The next three months are the hardest to bear in the mountains and it starts one thinking about warmer holiday destinations!

I decided I would take an image of the house today. It shows in graphic detail why it was so effective against the fire that went through this arm of the plateau in 2002.
I knew that I was building in an extreme fire zone so made sure that the construction materials were tough enough to withstand a bush fire. You will find very little timber on the exterior of the building and the windows are made of toughened glass.

I just believe if you want to build in this environment you must build in the safest way available to you at the time. Although I wouldn't want to go through the experience again, it was comforting to know that the house didn't even have a blister after the fire in 2002.

I love the fact that the grey exterior blends with the bush. On a grey day like today or on a very misty day, it sits so well with the bush.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.