Pink Celebration!

This morning CCN and headed into the Sydney CBD on the train to take part in the Mother's Day Classic for Breast Cancer Research.  As soon as we arrived at Martin Place and came up onto street level we realised that we were part of something very special. It was a "Sea of Pink" even the blokes were in pink :-)  This fundraising event has grown like topsy over the years and there seemed to be thousands of people in "Pink".

I have to let you in on a secret - I have competed in sport on some pretty big stages over my life but today was special.  Special because of the nature of the event but more importantly 12 months ago for CCN to do a walk like this would not have been an option.  My friend was facing some huge challenges and even walking 50 metres was out of the question.  CCN and I had trained since January to take part today.  Trotting out in the morning before brekkie and walking up to 3 to 4km.  When the start gun went off I was full of emotion because I knew just how much this meant to her.  
I am just so proud of CCN and I had to smile when she informed me that should would be wearing her walking gear all day and would not be removing her race number or race medallion for anyone!!  My only regret is that you couldn't be there at the finish to see us walk across the line together, it was a really wonderful moment, one that will live with me forever.
I can't post this blip without thanking our Canadian Coach/Mentor - Paula Banks. (Subjunctive)  Each week I have sent Paula our statistics with a summary of what we had achieved.  Religiously Paula would reply with the most heart felt advice and encouragement.  I know just how much this has meant to CCN.  We both love you for your support Paula. Even when you were in full training mode for the Boston Marathon, you found time to send us an email of support.

Post Script
Just as we were about to start the race we were surrounded by a group of women who were all wearing badges with the world "third time lucky". I asked one of the women what this meant.  Her reply - I'm battling my third bout of breast cancer!!  She had rallied her friends to come along today to support her.  It was an incredibly poignant moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.