Willy Wonka's Playground...

Slightly safer title than my original 'What the f...'?!

I really don't think of the second week of May to have to wear a big heavy coat and GLOVES! Because I only wore one pair of socks rather than two, my feet froze... A scarf would have been nice.

Sunrise was a fairly placid affair, with no actual sun and then it was downhill all the way since!

With the winds as they were, I did make a point of packing the ten stop ND filter, so go for some lovely blurry blowy time exposures. The ones of the sunrise went a violent, bubolic bright purple.

The ones of the river had grey muddy water looking like plastic and the trees a uniform mush and the clouds just burned out. Hmphhh.

I had tried this kiddie playground in between though. Good thing about a sunrise right now is that it's about 5.30, so not too many children around at that time, nor their parents either. You really don't want to be out with a big tripod and big camera taking ages doing time exposures (or any type of exposure!) in a kiddie's playground...

Anyway, I liked the strange and weird juxtaposition of the carefully lined up "things", with the very tall poplars behind and our local gasometer peeking in, a star of many a Blip of mine.

Originally destined to be a highly detailed black and white, that idea was soon abandoned as the original also had a hint of awkward magenta hue cast by the ND filter. (In actual bright sunlight, the filter is actually neutral, it's just that there wasn't any bright anything, apart from the paint-work, here).

So, feeling a little naughty and instead of trying to correct the odd hue, I "accidentally" moved a slider, or two. Maybe three.

And why not? Just this once! Kids love bright and zany colours and I bet they'd rush to play on these "things" far more if they really did look like this - and with this cold grey Sunday after a rather joyous - if odd and zany - Eurovision last night, as I said, 'what the f...!'

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm + Nisi 10 stop ND

Huge thanks to all who Favourited, commented and everything else on my black and white fisheye Blip of yesterday. It did really well on the other site I contribute to, too, getting high up in their Spotlight page, long before it crept onto Blip's.

I've thanked most of you and will get to the rest of you later, now, as I simply have chores to do. I already need Sherpa's to climb the top of my washing up pile, for starters...

Have a warm(er) Sunday than I've had so far, folks!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.