Wild.....

Around where I live in Sussex some of the country lanes are lined with wild Rhododendron Rhododendron ponticum plants. These large, leafy shrubs were accidentally introduced from parks and ornamental plantings in the 19th century. Sadly they are very invasive, producing dense thickets where nothing else has any chance of survival. They are managed fairly well around here, but this time of year the purple flowers in their subtly different shades add a special touch to country lanes, especially around Pease Pottage.
I thought it would be nice to blip one of these wild Rhododendron flower heads for today, especially as it has been my Birthday (and cold, blustery and wet ) and I have had little chance to get out and about.
Aside from that I have had a wonderful day, shared with my family. It just couldn't have been better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.