Exhibition.

Well here I am with my first competitive exhibition piece. I didn't win anything but I did get useful comments from the judges. The theme was East and this wall hanging was inspired by the pyramids of spice you see in Asian markets. Made using hand dyed (by me) cottons and contrasted with luscious had dyed (not by me) velvets and beads reflecting the diversity of the East. The judge thought it was an unusual design (unusual good or bad?!) and a good use of colour. Points to note were to outline quit the coloured insertions to make them stand out and help the quilt lay flat. Fair points but I didn't quilt the coloured pieces on purpose.

Met up with all the Dell Belles at the show, had a lovely lunch and a great catch up and natter. Also great to bump into so many folks I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.