Coal Hoodie The Mock Nightingale

I went for a walk along Epping Long Green this afternoon because I wanted to take a pic of the rhea that lived at a farm that Mr Q and I considered buying at one time.

I am sad that the escaped rhea that I had such fun trying to find and photograph near Barkway has been shot. :( She wasn't a wild bird and could have caused a terrible road accident. She is going to be made into sausages. I plan to phone the local sausage company tomorrow to ask for some if they are making them. The least I can do is eat a little bit of her in acknowledgement of the pleasure she gave me.

No rhea at Epping Long Green now. :(

It is World Migratory Bird Day this weekend. Some species, the turtle dove for instance, have declined by 95% in the last four decades.

Just as I got back to the car I heard a blackcap singing its loud and beautiful fluting song. So pleased that I togged a migrant today. :)




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.