New College Chapel

Matt took us to evensong today at New College, the sound, control and soaring harmonies of the choir lifted the soul.

Nunc dimitis "Lord, now lettest thou thy servant depart in peace : according to thy word.
For mine eyes have seen : thy salvation,
Which thou hast prepared : before the face of all people;
To be a light to lighten the Gentiles : and to be the glory of thy people Israel"./i]

and the
Magnificat
"My soul doth magnify the Lord : and my spirit hath rejoiced in God my Saviour.
For he hath regarded : the lowliness of his handmaiden.
For behold, from henceforth : all generations shall call me blessed.
For he that is mighty hath magnified me : and holy is his Name."/i]

I've not been brought up with a love for liturgy or certainly sung liturgy - but I could sit through this services every Saturday evening with profit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.