LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Hogmanay and the Dung Heap

I was simply lying in bed last night as still as a corpse because of the bruise on my hip from yesterday's tumble on to the icy roadway, when suddenly I felt my feet slipping on the ice and down I went again with a jolt.............. this was a variation of the falling down a hole sensation which is sometimes the precursor to sleep. I am amused to know that the hazards of icy pavements have entered my psyche!

Today we have a dilemma. We were meant to be driving south to Shipley in West Yorkshire tomorrow to celebrate the 30th birthday of our youngest daughter and also to inspect her new house. But the weather is causing us some problems. I'm sure that the M6 and the A66 will be clear of ice and snow, but we don't know what the weather is going to do en route. And I don't want our activities curtailed in Shipley itself if the pavements are anything like the ones here.
We will make a final decision tonight after finding out how the journey was for my Glasgow daughter and son-in-law who are travelling down today.

It's going to be a very cold Hogmanay Party in Edinburgh tonight. His Lordship and I are staying put and will probably watch rubbish television and toast the new Year with hot chocolate - that is if we can manage to stay up for the bells.
In days of yore, his Lordship was much in demand as a first foot being dark haired with a cellar full of coal. Now that he is grey with a gas fire , the bookings have dropped sharply.

Nevertheless, his Lordship and I would like to wish all of you outside the castle walls a very happy New Year and good health in 2010.

Slainthe Mhath!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.