Trudieva

By TrudievA

Little birds

I'll give you an update on our bird's nest. On May 2nd I discovered a bird's nest in our front yard. I quickly took a picture and saw there were 4 eggs.
A couple of days later I saw the eggs had hatched and some high squeaking noises came from the nest. Oldest set up his telescope on the stairs, so he could watch the nest and the birds. We saw something brown/grey moving, but the most obvious sign that the eggs had hatched were some bright yellow beaks we could see whenever mom came back to the nest.
I didn't want to go out and take pictures right away, because I didn't want to upset mom. But now more than a week has passed, so I thought it would be OK if I quickly took a snapshot from her new born babies.
When I held the camera high above the nest to take a picture, the baby birds probably thought I was mom bringing some good food, because they held their beaks wide open. So funny!
We also know now that this is a mocking bird's nest, because we studied the mom.
Anyway, enjoy our new front yard family. I have no idea how long they will be with us, but I hope to take another picture in a few days or a week.

There were 4 eggs and now I only saw 3 birds. Not sure if the 4th didn't hatch or if he's hiding behind the others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.