Monday.

Today was a difficult day for me.

Upon arriving at work, I got a call from one of my old friends in the US telling me that one of my university friends had fallen whilst rock climbing and died yesterday. Jonathan was an extremely kind, joyful person with a real lust for life. He was a Frenchman who played the bagpipes, a scientist, mathematician and all round nice guy.

Whilst we were doing our PhDs together, he and his then girlfriend learnt how to sail, and when he graduated the two of them sailed out into the Atlantic and down the coast of Africa. Gina and I were sorry to miss their wedding, but at the time we were living in New Zealand and we couldn't make it back.

Not one of those friends that I spoke with a lot these days, but one that I knew we'd just pick up where we left off when I did see him.

I thought about him often, but never sent a message to let him know.

It's such sad, sad news.

The rest of the day conspired against me and I ended up going to the empty K-mart to buy a new bike pump after both Gina and I had punctures that needed repairing.

The empty car park resounded with me tonight.

Jo, ou que tu sois, sois heureux. On ne t'oublira pas. Que tu quittes cette terre sur une aire de cornemuse. Donne du courage a Sophie. Ici, on est physiquement loins, mais nos pensees sont tous pres.

Repose en paix.

In memorium, Jonathan Laudanski, 1983 - 2014

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.