SilverImages

By SilverImages

And ice cream castles in the air

I was driving back from a business meeting near Monmouth and the sky today, as it has been for a few days now, varied from superb to grot. I was barely on time - no I was a couple of minutes late - for my meeting and I'd been distracted by the cloudscapes on my journey to Monmouth. I wanted a photo for Blipfoto but wasn't able to stop to take one. When I emerged from the meeting a couple of hours later the sky was grey over Monmouth, so I started my return journey. Of course, the drama in the sky returned and I was eager to get a good cloudscape, but the road is set down with trees either side, I needed to be up....

Signpost to Raglan appears so I make a detour to the castle. Cheapskate that I am I was planning to use the car park, but I could see better photos inside the castle grounds. At £4.50 entry fee it was going to be a bargain if I could get the shot.

I soon found myself up one of the towers with a fantastic vista in all directions, they knew what they were doing when the sited the castle there. The shower clouds were building over Blorenge to the West, so I rattled off a few shots and scurried around the castle looking for better viewpoints. Met a few groups of American tourists who humoured the demented "local". Could have stayed there all day but lunch beckoned.

A quick meditation in the car before starting for the exit, in search of somewhere to eat - then I noticed the sign for the castle café and I succumbed. Parked the car having travelled all of forty yards or so and walked up the lane a short distance to the castle mews. Enjoyable fresh sandwiches and coffee before heading off for another afternoon business meeting at 2.30pm.

I'll be posting lyrics to the clouds at various times from now on as I have a few cloudscapes and there are bound to be plenty more at this time of year.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.